Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30436

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/20/2016

RE: Rec Adult

David Knight of Singapore, Singapore Singapore asks...

An indirect free kick is awarded outside the penalty area. The person taking the free kick strikes the ball at the goal and the shot is on target. However, the shot strikes a defender and goes in. Who is credited with being the goal scorer? The player taking the free kick or the defender, as the player taking the indirect free kick cannot score directly?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi David
It is only relevant in fantasy football, betting, statistics etc. The player could argue that he intended for some contact to happen making the goal legitimate so I would credit the goal to the kicker. It would be unfair to credit it as an own goal as the defender might not have known that the goal could not have been scored. If the ball was going wide it would be an OG



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi David,
This isn't a Laws of the Game issue, but I know often the referee does note down the goalscorers. There are no real guidelines on this - some referees will judge it an own goal if the deflection was the only reason it went in (ie if it was going to miss, or if it would have been saved).



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

In most games I reffed, the score sheet required the ref to credit the goal to one of the players. So I gave it to whichever attacker touched the ball last. One time it was the goalkeeper when the ball pinballed off opponents following a goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30436
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.