Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30452

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/25/2016

RE: Competitive Under 19

Thomas Schaller of Chicago, IL USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30449

Following up: I can give a caution to a player resulting from a foul even if I don't give a free kick? (because the ball was already out of play?)

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Thomas
Yes that is correct. A referee can and should take disciplinary action against a player who is guilty of misconduct even when the ball is out of play.
An example would be where say a forward is called offside and the whistle sounds. A defender then recklessly fouls the attacker. The referee can and should caution the defender for USB. The restart though does not changes which is an IDFK for offside. The USB happened when the ball was out of play.
Another one is where the ball has clearly left the field of play say for a goal kick, corner kick etc. The ball is being retrieved and a player kicks an opponent with excessive force. The player is guilty of violent conduct and he is dismissed with a red card shown. The restart does not change from a goal kick, corner kick that is the reason play was stopped.
The difficult one is where the ball is exiting the FOP and the referee has to determine if the ball is in play or not at the MOMENT of the offence. If the ball is in play it is a foul. If it is clearly out of play it is misconduct. Many refs when unsure and in doubt go with the foul.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Misconduct can happen when the ball is out of play, for foul-like actions. Just remember it's not a foul, because the ball must be in play for a foul. Do you remember the other 2 criteria?

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30452
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.