Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30485

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/6/2016

RE: rec Under 18

mark bell of wishaw, North Lanarkshire United Kingdom asks...

Striker going in on goal with keeper coming out to block striker gets shot away and ball goes wide. After he gets shot away he and keeper run into each other both due to momentum. What decision should be awarded?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
Always a difficult one. The referee has to decide what caused the contact and whether it was simply momentum between two players or whether one player such as the goalkeeper was late to the ball which makes it a foul provided the ball was still in play.
So this could be nothing and a goal kick or it could be a penalty kick. As the forward got his shot away there was no denial of a goal scoring opportunity so at worse it could be a caution for unsporting behaviour for a late challenge or indeed it could be a penalty kick only.
Most of these end up as no foul although if the contact is reckless then I am going with a foul and a card depending on the severity of the challenge.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

'After he gets the shot away' - but did the ball go out of play before the collision? If so, it's a goal kick and no foul, but it could be misconduct.

The referee has to evaluate both players' actions to determine if either one of them is at fault, if the crash happened while the ball was still in play. That's not always easy to do, especially considering the ref gets only one quick glance at it from one angle.

And sometimes the most horrific train wrecks are just unfortunate incidents, not a foul.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


Without seeing the situation I can not possibly give you a proper answer. Some things I would consider in this situation though:

1) How late is the contact between the player and the keeper
2) Who initiates the contact
3) Where is the contact (ie leg, shoulder, torso)
4) Where is the ball when the contact occurs
5) Did the keeper get any contact of the ball

Based on the answer to these, it could be a Goal Kick, Corner Kick, or a Penalty Kick. If the answer to number 4 is out of play, then the restart can not be a penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30485
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.