Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30492

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/7/2016

RE: Adult

Referees of Syd, NSW Australia asks...

So with these new laws there is no penalty goal right?

How does offices restart work with playing coming from offside position into own half?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Yes no change in that there is no penalty goal. That was never going to be an option IMO. However one change states that when there is interference from an outside agent, a team official, substitute, substituted or sent off player and if a ball is going into the goal and the interference does not prevent a defending player playing the ball, the goal is awarded if the ball enters the goal (even if contact was made with the ball) unless the ball enters the opponents’ goal. That is a very rare event in the game and very unlikely to happen to the majority of referees.
In respect of the offside IDFK location the restart will be in the players own half when the player comes back into his own half to play the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Usually the Australian winter competitions don't integrate the news laws until next season - it would just be too confusing to make significant changes in the middle of a season. Check with your local Referee's Association.

I believe at some stage I heard something about a penalty goal being proposed, it may have simply been a rumour - either way, it's not part of the changes.

As Ref McHugh states, if a player in an offside position steps back into their own half and commits the offence there, that's where the free kick is.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30492
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30494

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.