Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30525

Law 15 - Throw In 6/19/2016

RE: Club Based Ref Adult

Warren Mackie of Auckland, New Zealand asks...

During the throw in is it illegal to spin the ball? I constantly have players asking for a foul throw when the ball spins in the air, most of the time this is just a result of the wind or a slight spin on the ball when it leaves the hands which i believe is ok, but sometimes you see a player deliberately spin it to get more distance on the throw. I always thought this was illegal but I can't see anything in the FIFA Laws to say it is.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Warren
The Laws of the Game up until 2008 stated that a player *uses both hands* at a throw in. If only one hand was *used* that was deemed an incorrectly taken throw in. Some referees were of the opinion that spin on the ball was a tell tale sign of the use of one hand. Spin was never part of the wording although the wording was amended to *holds the ball with both hands* in 2008 to eliminate any possible confusion about using both hands.
Now the new wording from 1st June 2016 states that the player ** throw the ball with both hands from behind and over the head from the point where it left the field of play**
So spin does not make it illegal although there may be remnants of the legacy spin issue that may not have not gone away which is highlighted by your question.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Warren,

The Laws require that both hands are to be used for a throw in. Always has been. You are quite correct in saying there is nothing in the Laws that talks about 'spin'.
Spin comes from using one hand more than the other. But nonetheless, if both hands were used, it is legal.
Throw ins are such an unimportant part of the game - many throw ins go to the wrong team - and extremely rarely are they called in big games. Spin away, as long as both hands are used!



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30525
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.