Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30536

Law 14 - Penalty kick 6/24/2016

RE: Competitive Under 16

Russell Berkowitz of Pacheco, CA - California USA asks...

Question about Penalty Kicks.

During a penalty kick, everyone was set up properly (refs, ball, keeper, kicker, etc..) the ref blew the whistle for the kick, but the kicker walked up to the ball, picked it up and reset it. The kicker didn't run up as if to kick the ball, so they weren't trying to fake out the goalie. But I didn't think they were able to handle the ball (move it slightly) after the whistle had blown. I thought you only had one touch, which would be the kick. Is this an infringement. If so, what would be the consequences (if during the game, or if during a penalty shoot out at the end of the game.)

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
Normally what happens here is that the kicker should request a reset from the referee. There is nothing in the laws to say that the ball cannot be reset and it is just courtesy to ask. As it was not done there is little that can be done other than to go through the penalty routine again from the beginning and to sound a second whistle when all is ready again. The referee could caution for delaying the restart yet as the ball is not in play the penalty kick is still the restart. IMO a caution would be harsh for a genuine reset and no need for it.
Any time I have seen this the player has asked the referee for a reset which is always granted. Indeed if the ball moved off the mark it would be required to be replaced anyway.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Russell,

Like any free kick, there's no particular law saying the player can't handle the ball after the whistle is blown. The referee could consider it delaying the restart of play or some other form of mind games at a penalty kick.

In this scenario, the referee should probably warn the kicker to get on with it and tell all players to again wait for the whistle. Any repeats should be met with a caution - the player had plenty of time to set the ball so this just seems like cheap mind games.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30536
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.