Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30590

Law 11 - Offside 7/11/2016

RE: Any Other

former youth ref of Hordaland, Norway asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30560

Thanks for answering my law 12 questions, as well as all the other questions on this site.
I enjoy reading your take on uncommon situations.
Following up on the question regarding the new details in law 11:
I see an issue in the case of the attacking team retaining possession (after e.g. hitting the post), but having to restart the attack as the defenders are well organised. As the defending team has not cleared the ball an attacking player who re-entered from the goal line cannot play the ball (unless at least two defenders are on the goal line) no matter what she does. This is true even in her own half (or penalty area) as she remains on the goal line for purposes of offside.
Would you call the offside the next time she becomes involved in play anywhere on the field, or would this go against the spirit of the game? If not called, at what point does this change? What are the implications for the case of defenders off the field covered by the same wording?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Offside position is considered at each and every touch of the ball by a teammate. So if the player comes back onto the field, she can get into an onside position and would be able to become involved in play once a teammate touches/plays the ball again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
When an onside player plays the ball another phase of begins so offside is reevaluated at that time. The PIOP has the opportunity to get back into an onside position and get involved in active play on that subsequent play. It is only on the original play that the PIOP can do nothing to put himself back onside. So a rebound off the frame of the goal is still the same play and a PIOP is prevented from playing the rebound. In those situations the PIOP has to wait for the ball to go out of play or for the opponents to gain control of the ball or a new phase of play begins as already mentioned by an onside player.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30590
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30594

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.