Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30595

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/12/2016

RE: Any Other

former youth ref of Hordaland, Norway asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30592

A final scenario regarding extended time penalty kicks:
The penalty kick is legally taken without encroachment or feints.
While the ball is in play the other goalkeeper strikes an opposing player in that penalty area. By some miracle you see this, and know that it happened while the ball was in play. The ball enters the goal.

I would give the penalty at the other end.
The law only says: 'If a penalty kick has to be taken or retaken, the half is extended until the penalty kick is completed.'
My view is that there are three outcomes. The penalty kick must be retaken, the penalty kick ends normally and the half ends, or the penalty kick ends with a new direct free kick foul in either penalty area, leading to a new penalty for which time is extended.

I'll note that I wouldn't use extended time penalties except when forced by competition rules, as I certainly wouldn't have ended the half before the situation in which the attacker got fouled was otherwise resolved. Those seconds still remain.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Outlier situations are always difficult. The key to this scenario is the exact moment of the violent conduct and did it happen before the game was concluded or not with the kick completed or did it happen before the ball was put into play? More likely is a player in the group around the penalty area committing VC and the referee is then faced with the decision re timing and the outcome of the kick. It is for these type of reasons that I do not think it is good idea ending on the penalty kick.
Now if the foul happened after the whistle and before the kick was taken the restart will depend on who committed the VC and if a goal is scored or not.
In your scenario as the ball was in play with the kick already taken a retake is not possible. Whether it happened after the game was ended depends on the timing of both.
If the referee can without doubt opine that the offence happened after the kick and before it entered the goal which I doubt then it is a PK at the other end. That is not going to happen as the timing is just too difficult if not impossible to determine. On paper will give one answer yet the on field experience will decide differently.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa

Referee McHugh makes some good points. I would also add that, if you are truly extending the end of the game for a penalty kick, you make it clear to the players this is the case. I have even heard it suggested that you have the rest of the players go to the bench area (but still on the field).



Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Sometimes I think that by discussing ever more and more unlikely scenarios, we run the risk of being reduced to the same pointless sophistry as is symbolised by the (apparently apocryphal) medieval debate over how many angels could dance on the head of a pin.

So, even though I think this is a scenario that is never likely to happen, if it did then I think the technically correct answer is that if a VC offence has been committed by a player in their own penalty area while the ball is in play then firstly, since an offence had been committed by the team scoring the 'goal,' the initial penalty would not count as a goal and secondly, a further penalty should be awarded at the other end, for which time would have to be extended again.

However, I can see a counter argument that since the initial penalty marks the end of play for that period, as soon as it is over, play must stop. A conundrum indeed but luckily, as I say, one that none of us is ever likely to face. In either case, the keeper would be sent off for Violent Conduct.

I don't see a retake possibility as all the retake scenarios in the Laws relate to offences that occur after the referee has given the signal for the penalty to be taken but before the ball is in play.

Once again, a scenario that could be avoided by choosing not to end on the penalty kick, as Ref McHugh suggests.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30595
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.