Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30613

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 7/16/2016

RE: Competitive Under 10

Xavier Angulo of San Diego, Ca USA asks...

Ref blew the end of the first half while a shot was in mid flight. Does the goal count?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Xavier
This is a pretty regular question now on the site. The game ends at the moment of the whistle so no further play is allowed which includes the flight of the ball. If a goal is scored after the whistle it does not count.
As I have said previously it is not good practice to do this although it is not incorrect in Law. Some referees time the game in a very exacting manner. That may happen more regularly in certsinly countries where timing in other sports such as football, basketball is exact to the second. Not so in soccer generally and a second or so can and should be found to see a play out to a conclusion. If the shot goes wide or it is saved that outcome will cause less gripe than disallowing a goal due to timing of a whistle.
As an aside in NFHS games as my colleague Referee Manjone points out that once the match timing clock being used by the match timer shows zero the game ends.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

As for the actual answer to the main question, Ref McHugh has it right as usual, so I will defer to him.

I would just mention that in previous debates on this, the relative merits of the FIFA/IFAB and NFHS provisions on deciding when a game is over have been discussed. Both have their proponents and opponents and I can see good points and bad points in both. However I would say that whichever version you are using, I find the idea of blowing the whistle while the ball is in mid-flight on the way into the goal, just doesn't sit comfortably with me.

I rather like the way this is handled in basketball where although they used a fixed timing system with a buzzer, so long as ball is in the air before the buzzer sounds, if the ball goes in, the shot still counts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30613
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.