Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30624

Law 2 - The Ball 7/20/2016

RE: Competive Adult

Cindy Verne of Placentia, CA usa asks...

I a ball from another field comes on the field and interfers with play and the ref stops the game. How should the ball be put back in play

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Cindy
When a ball from another field interferes with play the referee stops play and restarts with a dropped ball from where the ball was when play was stopped.
Older referee will recall that the entry of a ball on to the field of play was generally a reason to stop play. Over the years only interference became a reason to stop.
As Referee Grove points out this has been amended from June 1 where interference occurs on a ball destined for the goal but does not stop the ball entering the goal the interference can be ignored and the goal awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Cindy, whether the ball comes from another field or not (for instance, if it is an additional ball associated with the game on the current field) the referee treats it in the same manner. The Laws of the Game tell us that:

'if [...] an extra ball, other object or animal enters the field of play during the match, the referee must: stop play (and restart with a dropped ball) ...'

Please note however, that the referee should do this 'only if it interferes with play.' By contrast, the ref should 'allow play to continue if it does not interfere with play and have it removed at the earliest possible opportunity'

Finally though, under the new edition of the Laws there is a caveat to all this, as follows:

'unless the ball is going into the goal and the interference does not prevent a defending player playing the ball, the goal is awarded if the ball enters the goal (even if contact was made with the ball) unless the ball enters the opponents' goal'



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30624
Read other Q & A regarding Law 2 - The Ball

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.