Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30626

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 7/21/2016

RE: REC High School

Howard Knight of Windsor, Ontario Canada asks...

if a goalie catches the ball and then his momentum takes him past the end line but not into the net. Goalie kick or corner kick?
Co-ed Recreational ages 16-21

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Howard, the resulting kick depends on the position of the ball, not of the goalkeeper. If the ball completely crosses the goal line, the restart will be a corner kick. If the ball does not completely cross the goal like, it is considered in play and a goal keeper kick or throw would be the restart.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Howard,

All we need to consider is where the ball is. If the ball wholly crosses the goal line and into the goal, then it's a goal. The position of the rest of the keeper's body doesn't matter -so the keeper can be fully in the goals with the ball 99% in and a sliver on the line, and it's no goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Howard
It is the position if the ball that matters not the position of the player. So if all of the ball crosses all of the goal line into the goal the referee awards a goal. It makes no difference if the goalkeeper is holding the ball or not.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30626
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.