Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30646

Kicks From The Penalty mark 8/3/2016

RE: cat.1 Professional

Marx Johndonbok Nongsiej of Shillong, Meghalaya India asks...

if during kicks from penalty mark a player feinting do we have to cancel the goal? because in a penalty we have to caution and award an indirect fk to the opponent,but what about in the kicks from penalty mark

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Marx
The same condition that apply to the regular game in Law 14 also apply in Kicks from the Penalty Mark. The player is cautioned for USB and any goal scored is cancelled. As there is no IDFK restart the KFTPM proceeds with the next kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


View the illegal kick in isolation. What is the result of the kick? It is an IFK for the defending team. In KFTPM, the only difference is that there can not be an IFK restart. So we consider the kick 'taken' if it is missed and the kicking team would lose possession. Since we can't restart with an IFK, we just proceed to the next kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

When you say 'feinting' I take it you mean illegal feinting, i.e. stopping after the run-up is completed. If so, then please refer to Ref McHugh's answer.

However, please note that according to the Laws of the game, 'feinting in the run-up is permitted' - whether during the match itself or during KFTPM.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30646
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.