- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 30656
The Technical Area 8/8/2016
RE: Amateur Adult
George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...
A player approaches the technical area and the coach hands him a bottle with water. The player turns around to follow the play as he drinks. The ball is kicked hard from about the six in the direction of the player drinking water. As players are scrambling for the ball, the player drinking water tosses the water bottle off the field and sprints to meet the ball before others catch up to the ball. The opposing team started protesting that the player was off the field of play. He was not. He was standing right in front of me the whole time. At halftime, CR had a word with me. He said that a player who is drinking water cannot gain an advantage out of the situation, which the player clearly did. My question, is there anything in LOTG to support this?
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
As the player did not leave the field of play there was no issue and the referees comment was incorrect. A player is entitled to come to the sideline to take water or speak with the coach. He may not leave the field of play and it is a decision for the AR to make in this regard.
It is up to the opponents to factor in the players position into its tactical calculation. Sure if the player just positioned himself close to the sideline in that location what would the opponents do? Complain about the players position!!
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee James Sowa
The only potential complaint here would be that the player threw the water back to the bench instead of handing it to the coach. You can have a word with the player/coach about this but there is no infraction to call at this point. The player is entitled to drink water as long as they remain on the pitch. In this case they did so there is nothing wrong with your scenario presented above.
Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa
View Referee James Sowa profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30656
Read other Q & A regarding The Technical Area
The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...
See Question: 30660
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.