Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30656

The Technical Area 8/8/2016

RE: Amateur Adult

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

A player approaches the technical area and the coach hands him a bottle with water. The player turns around to follow the play as he drinks. The ball is kicked hard from about the six in the direction of the player drinking water. As players are scrambling for the ball, the player drinking water tosses the water bottle off the field and sprints to meet the ball before others catch up to the ball. The opposing team started protesting that the player was off the field of play. He was not. He was standing right in front of me the whole time. At halftime, CR had a word with me. He said that a player who is drinking water cannot gain an advantage out of the situation, which the player clearly did. My question, is there anything in LOTG to support this?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
As the player did not leave the field of play there was no issue and the referees comment was incorrect. A player is entitled to come to the sideline to take water or speak with the coach. He may not leave the field of play and it is a decision for the AR to make in this regard.
It is up to the opponents to factor in the players position into its tactical calculation. Sure if the player just positioned himself close to the sideline in that location what would the opponents do? Complain about the players position!!





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa

George,

The only potential complaint here would be that the player threw the water back to the bench instead of handing it to the coach. You can have a word with the player/coach about this but there is no infraction to call at this point. The player is entitled to drink water as long as they remain on the pitch. In this case they did so there is nothing wrong with your scenario presented above.



Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30656
Read other Q & A regarding The Technical Area

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30660

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.