Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 3066

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

RE: rec Under 10

c rappaport of hopewell, nj us asks...

A referee recently awarded a goal where a kick was stopped by a deliberate use of hands by the defender. I'd never seen this call before. Is it correct?

Answer provided by Referee burbidge

There isn't enough information in your question to provide a definitive answer but assuming that the ball crossed completely over the imaginary line that runs from the goal line up to the crossbar then yes, it is a goal. The player should be also shown the red card for deliberately attempting to stop the ball from going into the net. If however, your defender did not let the ball cross over the imaginary line, it should not be ruled as a goal. The offender should be red carded for deliberately stopping the ball with their hands and a PK given. Hope this helps.

Read other questions answered by Referee burbidge

View Referee burbidge profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson

Hi C rappaport,..For a goal to be scored it must pass completely over the goalline, under the crossbar and between the posts. I am assuming the defender handled the ball before this could happen? If it crossed the goaline before it was touched then the goal would be good and no foul on the player. If a player deliberately handles the ball on its way into the goal he is Denying a Goal Scoring Opportunity which is punishable by a red card and send off..The correct restart is to award a DFK if the handling is outside the penalty area or a PK if inside his own penalty area. UNDER NO circumstances could you award a GOAL to the other team if you felt it might have gone into the net..In mini sided or youth games often those that officiate are not a great deal more experianced than those that play..Although in mini and small sided soccer such punishment as carding may not be metted out nor at times is the puniskment for the foul the same as prescibed by FIFA. In some very young youth games only INDFK are given. These are local rules only. Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 3066
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.