Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30666

Kicks From The Penalty mark 8/13/2016

RE: REC Adult

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Keepers moving off the line at Penalties should be booked.

So says the esteemed Uefa chief refereeing officer, Pierluigi Collina.

To quote him... 'Goalkeepers who move forward off their line when a penalty is taken must be given yellow cards and spot-kicks retaken even during a shootout.'

If this was in place for todays KFPM in the Brazil v Australia Olympic Quarter Final - the brazil an keeper would have bee sent off after the second penalty taken by the Australian's.

Of course, the yellow card scenario suggested by Collina is not in place, however, surely the CR and AR should have had a 'word' to the Brazilian keeper. One can only wonder what might have been if they did.
(one can also only wonder what might have been if the Aussies converted after the Mata miss / Williams save).

Speaking of penalties, keen on the panels thoughts regarding the penalty shout 2-3 minutes before the end of regulation time.

And yes, clearly, I am a disappointed Aussie Matilda's supporter.

Russell

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The perennial problem of goalkeeper encroachment. Now IFAB has CHANGED Law 14 in that, so as PierLuigi Collina states, a goalkeeper is now cautioned for encroachment and a retake.
Now the Law only requires that the goalkeeper is cautioned on a retake not a scored penalty. So as all the Australian penalties were scored up until the last penalty there was no issue and no cautions. Now interestingly the one that was missed had the least amount of encroachment by the Brazilian goalkeeper.
As regards the penalty call I did not see the game and highlights are very limited. The only video I saw did not show any penalty claim which might suggest that it was questionable?



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30666
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.