Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30669

Kicks From The Penalty mark 8/14/2016

RE: REC Adult

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30663

A related question to 'when is a penalty kick completed'.

Ref Wright clarifies that 'The kick is over once the ball has lost all the momentum from the kick'.

So what if the following happened in a KFTPM scenario.

The Kicker kicks the ball and the keeper guesses the wrong way, moving slightly to their left as they see the ball go to their right. The keeper effectively is still standing in the centre of the goal seemingly rooted to the ground. Not unusual, we see that often.

The ball hits the upright and rebounds back towards the keeper. With the ball still moving, the keeper thinks the penalty is 'missed' and (stupidly) kicks the ball into the goal running off thinking the penalty is over.

As unlikely as it is, what is the call?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The Laws do not deal very well with outlier situations. The referee in your scenario could determine that the kick is completed so no goal is awarded. He could also determine otherwise.
Have a look at this situation.
The referee determined that the kick was not saved and as the ball ended up in the goal he awarded the goal.
Now I have looked at this multiple times and I am still not sure if it was saved or thrown into the goal. There is still spin on the ball from the save and one can argue which no doubt the referee would do is that the ball was not thrown and it was all one action. The current wording in Law 14 is that ** The kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any infringement of the Laws.** That supports the refs decision here. The lesson for goalkeepers is to not allow it to happen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30669
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.