- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 30676
Law 17 - Corner Kick 8/17/2016
RE: All Professional
karl kockler of exton, PA Chester asks...
I remember reading the rules back when I was a coach and being suprised that a corner kick can be awarded for some reason other than the defending team having last touch befor the ball going over the goal line (other than between the posts). I can not remember why. I think it had something to do with what appeared to be an own goal that was not awarded.
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
A team cannot score on ITSELF from any restart so if the ball enters the goal in such circumstances a corner kick is awarded.
The regular corner kick is where the ball is last touched by a defending player before it crosses the goal line and I am not aware of any other surprise reason in the past for a corner kick to be awarded other than the own goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright
A team cannot score against themselves directly from a restart. So, say a player, just outside the PA, attempts to pass the ball back to the keeper. The keeper isn't paying attention or slips over in the mud and the ball goes straight into the goal without being touched by the keeper or any other player. This would be a corner kick. If, however, the keeper touches it, then it's a valid goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profile
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol
While I agree with my esteemed colleagues, the result of a corner kick when a player kicks the ball directly into her own goal at a restart is a subset of the criteria for a corner kick:
- Ball last touched by the defending team - check
- Ball crossed the goal line - check
- Goal was not scored - check (because a team is not allowed to score against itself directly at a restart)
This is similar to the reasoning for a goal kick if a team 'scores' on an indirect kick. Law 13 specifies the resulting kick, but it's for the same reasoning.
The changes in Law 8 for a dropped ball not being scored directly (and clarified this year to mean without touching a second player) also follow the pattern, even though Law 8 states the resulting goal/corner kick without explanation.
Maybe one of these edge examples is what you were thinking about for a unique reason for a corner kick. But they're really not a new reason, just rarely seen.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30676
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.