Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30691

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/27/2016

RE: Other

Shaji of Shuwaikh, Kuwait Kuwait asks...

Hello sir,
Law 4 players equipments:-
Player losing foot wear/Shinguard accidently can play on until next stopage play.
In center circle one of the player lost his boots while playing. And he continues the game without boots and scored one goal,Is this allowed or not?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Shaji
It all depends whether the player was at risk of injury or not. Without footwear the players shoeless foot can be at risk of getting trod on or kicked by an opponents boot. The Laws allow for the player to continue for an immediate goal opportunity and as long as there is no danger or risk to the player. It is highly likely that losing footwear in the center circle that the player will be at risk once confronted by opponents so play should be stopped once that happens. It is playing in a dangerous manner and it is matter for the referee to decide on based on the circumstances. The equipment is corrected once play is stopped in such a situation and the restart is an IDFK for PIADM.
The loss of a shinguard would be considered also a safety risk although probably less noticeable. It is not likely that a referee will see no shinguard unless the players sock is down at the ankle. The loss should be dealt in a similar manner.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30691
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30694

See Question: 30697

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.