Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30697

Law 4 - Players Equipment 8/30/2016

RE: Other

Shaji Thrissur of Kuwait, Kuwait Kuwait asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30691

Hello sir,
While a player shooting to goal post,his footwear gone forward to goalkeeper and ball and boot went in to Goal.Is it a Goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Shaji
The answer depends on whether the boot had any impact on the goalkeepers actions. If for instances the goalkeeper had to react to avoid the boot at the same time as trying to save the ball then that would be unfair so the referee would stop play and restart with a dropped ball. If the boot had no impact then the goal is awarded.
It is very rare occurrence and one that would not referees would have to deal with if at all.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Shaji,

There is no particular offence by losing footwear or shinpads. The laws allow the player to continue playing and a goal to be scored - as long as he doesn't put anybody (including himself) in danger by playing.

In this scenario, if the shoe has affected the goalkeeper then the goal should be disallowed.

I would personally disagree with Ref McHugh's restart - I suggest it's a free kick to the defending team from the location of the keeper (direct if struck by the shoe, indirect if not) - for either kicking an opponent or playing in a dangerous manner.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30697
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - Players Equipment

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.