Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30705

Law 14 - Penalty kick 8/31/2016

RE: Junior Under 15

Chris Ferns of Kuwait, Kuwait Kuwait asks...

During a penalty the kicker (Player) takes his shot and the ball hit the cross bar or the goal post bounces on the ground twice and then rolls and crosses the goal line.

What is the decision?

The same applies during tie breaker.

Is the decision same?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Chris
Have a read of these Q&A
The principle in the second answer is still good even with Law 14 updated to state ** The penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any infringement of the Laws.**
In both your examples the goal is awarded.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Chris,
as long as the structure of the goal is the standard soccer goal and not a rugby or pointy ball structure above the crossbar the ball is actively in play until the momentum imparted into the ball by the original pk kicker is utterly spent, the ball is in touch, the keeper has controlled possession or the ball is headed away from the goal so there is no backspin or possible way for the ball to reverse its direction and no infringements of the LOTG have occurred by the team taking the kick . As stated goal in both examples.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30705
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.