Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30714

Law 11 - Offside 9/4/2016

RE: Amateur Adult

Daniel hague of Manchester, England asks...

This question is a follow up to question 22129

Canyou not be called offside if you recieve the ball from your own goalkeer if he throws the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes, you could. You would treat it same as any touch by a teammate. Offside postion at the time of release and you get involved in play...offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If you are in an offside position at the time the goalkeeper distributes the ball and you then become involved in play, you would be liable to be called offside.

It doesn't happen very often because offside only applies on the other side of the field, and the goalkeeper would need a mighty arm to throw the ball that far.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Daniel,
What you may have it mixed up with is that you cannot be offside if you receive the ball from your team's goal kick. When the goalkeeper takes possession in normal play and kicks or throws it out there are no special exceptions, so you certainly could be penalised for offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Daniel
The only times that a player cannot be offside from a play by a team mate is from a goal kick, throw in or corner kick. At all other times a player can be called offside if he meets the offside conditions.
If the player is in the opponents half and he receives the ball from a kick, throw, punt by the goalkeeper he will be called offside when he interferes with play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30714
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.