Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30732

Kicks From The Penalty mark 9/8/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30723

So this means that the last kicker's missed goal wouldn't count, is that right? In other words, red would get to kick again?

But what would happen if red had made the shot? I assume it would count & they would reduce to equate when the injured blue player left.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
This very event happened in an England v Holland U21 game in 2007. Taylor of England got injured during the game yet because all three subs were used he continued to play. When it came to KFTPM he stayed on the FOP probably not expecting kicks to go to 11 kicks. Anyway when it was his kick he initially declined to kick citing injury which was true. Holland protested and after a standoff for a short while Taylor went forward and scored. Not sure what would have happened had he not done so or been unable although it looked like the referee was proceeding with another kicker.

Fairness would dictate that opponents should be allowed to equate if a player is not going to take a kick. The missed penalty though cannot be ignored so it has to stand. If the injured player refuses the referee has a dilemma of does he insist and marking it down as a miss if he does not or does he then go to the next penalty taker and equate after that kick. The new laws state that kicks from the penalty mark must not be delayed for a player who leaves the field of play. The players kick will be ‘forfeited’ (not scored) if the player does not return in time to take a kick. Perhaps the referee can use the requirement for an injured player to leave the FOP for treatment if he does not take a kick and if he does not return his kick is forfeited. That certainly would be the fairest outcome. Probably even trickier if the penalty was made. Referese have to be mindful of genuine injuries and cases were players physically might not be able due to injury becoming more significant with say swelling / tightening up during the wait.
My sense of fair play would suggest that if a player is on the FOP he has to take a kick unless there are very obvious reasons why not. Hopefully like the game shown it can be sorted to everyones satisfaction.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30732
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30744

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.