Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30733

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/9/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30710

It seems to me that several sections of the new laws apply. Where the substitute throws a bottle at an opponent who is inside the substitute's penalty are, regardless of where the substitute is, it should be a PK & red card.

The interference occurs when the bottle hits (or nearly misses) the opponent or interferes with play & that is a PK if it's in the penalty area. The laws also state that the more serious foul is punished, so I would think it no longer matters whether the substitute is just off the field or has one foot on the field.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
The new Laws is specific about this. It is an IDFK if the substitute is off the field of play not ON and throws an object at an opponent on the FOP. Direct quote
** Play is restarted with an indirect free kick if a: # player standing inside the field of play throws an object at any person outside the field of play # substitute or substituted player throws an object at an opponent standing inside the field of play**

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30733
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.