Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30780

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/18/2016

RE: Club/High School Under 16

Brian Winiarski of Wyckoff, NJ USA asks...

In today's game, we awarded an indirect free kick just outside the penalty area. Our player touched the ball, and another player shot and scored. The referee disallowed the goal saying that the interpretation of law 13 is that a player must make a 'deliberate kicking motion' when touching the ball for a teammate to shoot.
Correct? I can't find any interpretations substantiating this interpretation.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Brian,
The law states that the ball is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves (and this has changed with the new laws with the addition of the word clearly).
Sometimes you see a situation when the first player taps the ball, but the ball hasn't moved. This means that this touch hasn't put the ball into play - so not only are the defenders still required to remain 10 yards away, but it's the next touch putting the ball into play. So if that 2nd attacker runs with the ball, it's an IFK for a double touch infringement.
There is some disagreement amongst referees about what 'moves' means. Some say it means the ball must roll, some (I think most) will accept a wobble on the spot. But the referee has to see the movement.

So if the first touch didn't put it into play in the referee's opinion and it went straight into goal without touching another play, it's a goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Brian,

If the first player merely touched the ball and did not make it clearly move then the referee was correct although not for the reason given. The law does not refer to a 'deliberate kicking motion' but it does say that the ball is only in play 'when it is kicked and clearly moves…'

This is a change from the old law which said merely that the ball had to move. In my opinion the intent of the law is that the ball must be clearly seen to move and a mere 'wobble' is no longer enough.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30780
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30785

See Question: 30789

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.