Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30806

Kicks From The Penalty mark 9/23/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 14

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

I have a question about kicks from the penalty mark regarding reduce to equate. Suppose you start out with 8 players on each team (blue & red). During the KFTPM, blue GK can't continue.

Are there 2 possible scenarios?
1. Blue takes another player who is already on the field & makes him a GK. This new GK may take kicks & red team must reduce to equate, since one blue player leaves the field.
2. Blue puts in a substitute (if available) or previously reduced to equate player as GK, but this new GK may not take any kicks. Therefore, red team doesn't have to reduce to equate because each team still has the same number of players eligible to take PKs, even though blue team has one more player on the field.

Do I have this right? Have I overlooked anything?
Thanks again,

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
When the scenario in 2 does happen I think many referees will be somewhat confused with this law change wording in that if the goalkeeper is replaced by a substitute or excluded player, the goalkeeper can not take a kick. My impression when I first read the new Law and Q&A that it referred to the new GK. I believe now it refers to the replaced goalkeeper not the substitute or the excluded player. If he is replaced by an onfield player that player has to take a kick so one would imagine that it applies to substitute and excluded player as well.
** A goalkeeper who is unable to continue before or during the kicks and whose team has not used its maximum permitted number of substitutes, may be replaced by a named substitute, or a player excluded to equalise the number of players, but the goalkeeper takes no further part and may not take a kick**
** When can a goalkeeper be replaced and who can replace the goalkeeper?
The goalkeeper can be replaced at any time. The replacement can be one of the players who is allowed to take a kick, a substitute (if the team has not used its maximum number of substitutes) or a player who was excluded from KFPM to make the number of players in each team equal. A goalkeeper who is replaced by one of the other kickers, may take a kick but if the goalkeeper is replaced by a substitute or excluded player, the goalkeeper can not take a kick.**



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I think this is a case where we have to interpret what they meant to say, even if that's not exactly what they wrote. It's clear the intent is that both teams have the same number of players taking part in kicks from the mark.

If a goalkeeper must leave the game, there has to be another player appointed as goalkeeper. There's no way that this new keeper wouldn't be counted in the number of players taking part in kicks. I agree with my colleague that the wording applies to the goalkeeper who left the game, not the new keeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30806
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.