Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30808

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/24/2016

RE: Competitive Under 15

Piero Dallarda of Riverside, California United States asks...

What is the appropriate call when a defender kicks the goal back to the goalkeeper and the goalkeeper picks it up with his hands denying a forward from the other team the opportunity to score?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Piero,
Law 12 specifically states that the goalkeeper cannot be cautioned or sent off for any handling related misconduct inside his own PA. So in that scenario, it doesn't matter what the impact upon the opposing team was - if it's inside the PA it can only be an IFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Piero
As Referee Wright rightly points out it is an indirect free kick ONLY with no card shown. The law is explicit on that and the reason is that the law was introduced to prevent the ball from being repeatedly kicked to the goalkeeper so that time was used up with the ball bring withheld from challenge in the GKs possession. The law makers do not want to prevent the goalkeeper from doing his role which is to use his hands inside the penalty area to prevent goals and make saves with his hands no matter who kicks the ball. Hence ugly us an IDFK only.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

Hi Piero,
the correct call, if the defender deliberately kicks the ball to his keeper and the keeper unwisely chooses to use his hands to stop, catch or redirect the ball away rather than kick or use a body part to knock the ball away, if inside the keeper's own PA is to look to see if there is any advantage on a mishandle allowing the striker to score and if there is none to whistle play dead, award an indfk from the point of the illegal handling subject to the special circumstances within the goal area . The keeper CAN NOT be sent off for denying a goal or obvious opportunity by the illegal use of his hands INSIDE his own 18 yard penalty area (which includes the 6 yard goal area) No card is required of any colour.
from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30808
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.