Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30822

High School 9/26/2016

RE: Competitive High School

Joey of Alexandria , USA asks...

I had a situation in a U14 game in which the goal keeper picked up a ball directly from an intentional back pass from a team mate, the IFK was an easy call, however, during the taking of the IFK the blue player whose team the IFK was awarded to was clearly going to use the back of his heel to pass the ball to his blue teammate to then take the shot. The problem was in one fluid motion the blue player touched the ball with his left heel and it immediately glanced off his right foot very unintentionally, the direction of the ball didn't change it rolled directly to the team who took the shot. Does this count was playing the ball twice? Or does the fact that it was an unintentional fluid movement that caused the second touch not matter?

- Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joey
This is a technical double touch infraction in a FIFA game. It makes no difference that the second touch is unintentional or inadvertent. It is simply a fact that the player touched the ball twice before it was played / touched by another player.
Now the challenge is whether to make the call if it difficult to determine or selling the call if the touch is so faint that few if any can see it. IFAB allows for a free kick to be taken by lifting the ball with a foot or both feet simultaneously. So if the contact was almost simultaneous then some slack can be given. Maybe the player does not realise it himself or clearly seen so there can be heated questions about awarding the IDFK or the restart the other way.
I reversed a restart at the weekend on a double touch and I had great difficulty selling it. Many did not know what happened as it was unexpected. Some after the game were questioning the call as they did not see the incident.
Put it like this. If it was at the highest level with high definition cameras etc and it was shown that it touched the player twice at a restart then it is a clear double touch infringement which should be called. At lower levels with uncertainty then it could be ignored.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Joey, You mentioned that it was an U14 game but you listed it as a high school question. In high school as indicated in Rule 13-3-2, the ball is not in play until it has moved in any direction. From what you said, the ball did not move until it was played by the right foot. Thus, it was now in play and could not be kicked or touched again by the blue kicker until another player had touched it. In this case, the player did not touch it after the ball was in play. What you described would not be a violation in high school play. I hope that your fall season goes well.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30822
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.