Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30835

High School 9/29/2016

RE: High school Under 17

Tammy of Salem, Il Marion asks...

Should a goal count if a referee blows the whistle to make a call then the other team kicks it in?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

No, it should not. Assuming the referee did indeed whistle before the ball crossed the goal line, play is considered to have stopped at that point in time so a 'goal' scored after the whistle cannot be awarded.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tammy
Once the whistle blows no further play is allowed so a glial cannot be scored after that. If it is an inadvertent whistle made in error then the restart is a dropped ball from where the ball was when the whistle sounded in a FIFA game or as outlined by a Referee Manjone in a NFHS game. Probably an apology from the referee for the error.
Many years ago I had an incident where I blew a second early on a goal scoring opportunity fir a foul by the goalkeeper. The moment I blew the shot entered the goal a second later. Now I was faced with a decision of penalty kick and a red card for the goalkeeper as per the law. I spoke to the captain of the conceding team and I told him that my whistle made absolutely no difference to the goal yet I could disallow it and send off the GK or award the goal and caution the GK. He went with the latter. Now the latter was technically incorrect in Law yet it was the best decision for the game. At the higher levels that would never happen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

No the goal does not count. As indicated by NFHS Rule 9-1-1c, the ball is out of play when the referee sounds the whistle. Unfortunately, a whistle is sometimes sound inadvertently. When this happens, high school rules indicate that the restart is an indirect kick by the team in possession from the spot where the ball was when the whistle was sounded. If neither team was in possession, then it would be a drop ball from the spot of the ball at the time of the sound of the whistle. I hope your high school team has a very successful season.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30835
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.