Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30850

High School 10/3/2016

RE: High School Vs Club Match

Paul Hofmann of Atlanta, GA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30842

The questioner noticed that in Club games/Fifa rules throw-ins that do NOT come in to play are retaken,(because the ball never came into play) For High School games, when attempted throw-ins fail to come in to play the throw-in is then awarded to the opposing team.
I believe the difference is due to the way the clock is managed in the two different formats. In club play the ref can simply add time if he ever believes necessary. In HS games, the clock is counting down towards an eventual buzzer that the ref has little control of. Regarding throw-ins, a clever coach with a small lead COULD instruct his players to take any throw-ins and fail to throw them into play, thereby unfairly wasting time. Certainly, if a ref thought this was the case he could then stop the clock, but the coaches little trick already worked as time was wasted. By awarding the throw to the other team, the possibility of this ploy is taken away, and the integrity of the game remains.

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

HI Paul,
your argument is as good as any for a solution. Once FIFA changed their approach that a match COULD NOT be restarted UNLESS the restart was performed properly they could have gone in the same direction. In my opinion it would be wise to adopt this policy. Unfortunately FIFA does not care about my opinion . LOL

Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Paul, You are correct. The intentional running of time off the clock by throwing the ball so that it did not come in bounds was the major consideration when this rule was passed by the NFHS Rules Committee. In my opinion, this rules change has been very successful. I hope that your having a great fall season.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30850
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.