Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30862

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 10/5/2016

RE: Under 16

Basem of Torrance, California Usa asks...

If a goalie is inside the goal and saves the ball when it is outside the goal, does it count?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Basem
Thanks for your question.
It is the position of the ball that counts not the position of the player playing the ball. If all of the ball is over all of the goal line then a goal is awarded. Even if a silver of the ball is on the line a goal cannot be awarded. It makes no difference if the goalkeeper had all of his body over the goal line and his hands are holding the ball on the line that is NOT a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Basem,
The ball location is all that matters. If any sliver of the ball is still above the line, then it's still in play (of course, this all comes down to the opinion of the referee).

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Basem ,
ball location is the ONLY criteria for a goal. The ENTIRE ball must completely be over and cross the goal line under the crossbar between the posts. In the high level pro matches they have technology that discerns this. In the real world of actual recreational football we are left to eye ball the ball in the air or on the ground if it has truly met that criteria. VERY, VERY difficult to tell when it is just in or just out unless you are looking in directly along the goal line and with the ball moving as fast as it doe,s players scrambling to kick it out, there will be mistakes in not seeing a good goal but occasionally taking away a good goal, such is the human factor. One can only hope the officials are neutral and are trying their best to be fair.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Basem,
A goal is only scored if the whole of the ball is over the whole of the line. The position of the goalkeeper is immaterial.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30862
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.