Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30885

League Specific 10/11/2016

RE: Adult

John Smith of london, United Kingdom asks...

In the Premier League, when a player receives 5 yellow cards he is suspended for 1 game. In this scenario, a player is on 4 yellows and then receives a straight red card in a match. Are his 4 yellows still accounted for and the next yellow will mean another suspension or is his next 'suspension level' at 10 yellows. If the red card is achieved via 2 yellows, does it also mean that he is now on 6 yellows and will receive a 1 or 2 game ban? 1 for the red and another 1 for hitting the 5 yellows?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
Sending offs do not count towards the running caution totals nor does two yellows followed by a red card add to the caution total. So in your example the player is suspended for the red card and his next yellow after he returns from suspension will result in a further suspension as he has reached 5 cautions.
There are also cut off dates. In the Premier League player earning their fifth caution of the season on or after 1st January would not earn any ban. However, if they received ten cautions by the second Sunday in April, a ban would apply.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi John,

This is a matter for local competition authorities and not the laws of the game. Typically the 2 cautions in the match where the player received a second caution won't count.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30885
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.