Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30889

Kicks From The Penalty mark 10/12/2016

RE: Rec Other

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

As i re-read modifications, I thought back to a game that went to penalty kicks. Players were too nervous and volunteers were scarce. My question is, if a nervous player decides he/she has a restroom emergency in the middle of kicks from the mark, does the other team reduce one player? Or would we wait for player to make it back for the kick? And if not back in time, that player's turn would count as a miss?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
The team has to make a decision as to what it wants to do. If the player is not excluded which allows the opponents to reduce to equate then if the player has not returned to take a kick before the 2nd round of kicks then it must be recorded as a miss when he is not there to take his kick.
Anyway it is a highly unlikely scenario. More likely at the lower levels that a player cannot stay in which case the opponents are asked to reduce to equate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi George,

While a team does have the option to say that a player is unable to take part in KFTPM and if that happens the other team must reduce to equate, as I understand the situation you outline, the player has simply decided to leave the field and it is not clear if or when the player will return.

This being the case, and assuming the player is still able to take part but simply does not return in time to take a kick, the kick is forfeited.

The actual wording in the laws is:

''Kicks from the penalty mark must not be delayed for a player who leaves the field of play. The player's kick will be forfeited (not scored) if the player does not return in time to take a kick.''




Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30889
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.