Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30917

Law 11 - Offside 10/18/2016

RE: competitive Adult

Jacob Mungoma of Malindi, Malindi asks...

According to my understanding an offside offence is taken from where it occurred or otherwise where the OPP was before getting involved into active play. That is how I judge it. I have always taken this as the INT of Law 11-4 sentence one; If an offside offence occurs, the referee awards an indirect free kick where the offence occurred, including if it is in the players own half of the field of play.
Am I right? The last part of this sentence seems rather confusing; I.e .....including if it is in the player's own half ..... seems as if the kick can be awarded on the offender's own half of the field of play! I have not seen it however! What's your take?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jacob,
the new rewrite of the LOTG have altered the restart location to WHERE the OPP (offside positioned player) actually GETS involved. It is no longer where he was when the OPP position was 1st determined. Yes I know a restart in your own half for offside is NOW possible.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jacob
The new Laws of the Game now requires that the IDFK for offside is taken from where the offence is completed for instance where the ball is touched by the player in an offside position. That for the first time includes touching the ball in a players own half. The IDFK is now taken in that position in the palyers own half NOT the offside position the player was in when the ball was last touched / played by a team mate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30917
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30926

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.