Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30940

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 10/23/2016

RE: Select Under 13

Richard Patience of Missouri City, Tecas USA asks...

At a goal kick, if goalie kicks the ball directly out of play behind his own goal without the ball ever leaving his penalty area, is the correct decision a corner or retake the goal kick? Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Richard
As the ball has not entered play the restart is a retake. If the ball crosses the girl Lind between the 18 yard line and the corner flag the restart is a corner kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Richard,
the ball MUST first be put into play by completely exiting the PA into the field beyond the PA boundaries! If the ball does not completely exit the PA prior to crossing the goal line it is a retake. If it was to happen over and over as a delaying tactic, it is delaying the restart and cautionable .
IF the ball left the PA and only then crossed the portion of the goal line extending from the outer edge of either side of the PA to the corner flags that would be a corner kick.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Richard,

It depends where the ball exits the penalty area and crosses the end line. If it exits the penalty area into the field of play first then crosses the end line, it would be a corner kick. If the ball crosses the goal line inside the penalty area, without having entered the field of play first, is a retake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30940
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.