Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30945

Law 15 - The Throw In 10/24/2016

RE: Select Under 15

Steven of Madison, Connecticut United States asks...

Delaying Restart - Throw-in -
On a run of play throw-in a defender approached the player taking the throw-in appeared to divert away but hung his leg to interfere with the throw in - player taking the throw delayed a step and on his second attempt the defender was still close to the player taking the throw with his back to him and again hung his leg but this time the defender interfered with the ball path as released into play - I determined that the player was 2 yards away and deliberately interfered with the throw-in - I cautioned the player and awared a free kick as the ball was in play - was this the appropriate restart?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Steven
The Law as you know has been amended here. An opponent who unfairly distracts or impedes the thrower (including moving closer than 2yds to the place where the throw-in is to be taken is cautioned for unsporting behaviour and if the throw-in has been taken an indirect free kick is awarded.
In your case the throw in was taken so the restart is an IDFK after the caution. If the TI is not taken with the thrower complaining about the interference then the restart does not change after the caution.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Steven,
Sigh why do players think acting goofy somehow is the way to seriously affect their opponents? I blame the coaches for teaching poor tactics lol The throw in has this important fact that seems to not be recognized
The throw in is SUPPOSED to occur from WHERE it actually LEFT the FOP. About a yard leeway either side would be fair. WHY is this important? Because the opposition is mandated to be at minimum 2 meters away so as not to eat the ball in the face and not to interfere with the throw in. The defenders can not unfairly distract or impede by moving in closer to two yards or jumping up and down flapping the arms or legs yet if the thrower is permitted to run up along the touchline it diminishes the distance and changes the restart location often by a wide margin.
If the defender is moving with the thrower closing him down rather than being stationary 2 meters from the point you as referee are demanding /pointing for the restart location to occur he is baiting the thrower and as such could be guilty of a caution for USB and to stop the restart to show the card and begin again or to award an INDFK from where the interference occurs once the ball was in play.
I generally warn the defenders to back off and let the thrower get the ball in play while reiterating the restart location to the thrower and not be quite as liberal as I see others do with throw ins occurring a long way from the exit point. Truthfully I can not recall cautioning a defender for such an event in a great while but I have awarded throw ins to the other team on occasion when they fail to note my insistence of the correct restart location

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Steven,

As the laws currently stand you took the correct course of action and applied the correct restart.

Ref McHugh has already given the exact wording of the law in the sentence of his answer starting with the words, ''An opponent ...''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30945
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.