Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30965

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 10/27/2016

RE: Rec Under 12

Trent Futrell of KNOXVILLE, TN - Tennessee USA asks...

On a goal kick, can the attack team enter the PA box before the ball leaves the PA box (even if they don't touch or interfere with the goal kick) or do they have to stay outside the PA box?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Trent,
NO the opposition on ANY free kick originating out of the defensive PA can not enter the PA until after the ball has completely exited the PA into the FOP. I occasionally have goal kicks retaken where the keeper say tries to make a pass out to the touchlines and the opposition will cut across the corner section of the PA to chase down the ball or recipient of the pass before the ball has exited and affects their ability to easily control or pass the ball . A word of warning if their actions have no effect might be prudent.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Trent
That should not happen and generally it is a retake. Sometimes the referee may see the entry as trifling having none or little effect on play with the kicking team keen to get on with play. Indeed they may become irate that play has been pulled back for a retake when the entry has little or no effect on play.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30965
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30970

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.