Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30981

Law 4 - The Players Equipment 10/30/2016

RE: Pro Adult

Gerrard Barnes of Belfast, Antrim Northern Ireland asks...

If a player removes his shirt after celebrating his goal, but underneath that shirt he has another, identical shirt with all numbers, badges etc, does he still get booked?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Gerrard,
well he likely will be sweating a great deal so lets cut him some slack! Lol
Seriously I have no real idea. He is likely to get cautioned given the LOTG specifically request we do so but it is just as likely to get a laugh at the same time. I certainly do not suggest it be done as it serves zero interests.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gerrard
It is a caution for me. The Laws state that **a player must be cautioned for removing the shirt or covering the head with the shirt**. IFAB uses the words *the shirt* so the shirt worn by the player must not be removed.
Also the lawmaker and referees do not take too kindly to circumvention. So a referee who cautions for this should it ever happen will be supported in doing so. Personally I do not think a player is going to go to all that bother of a replica shirt to remove a shirt in a celebration. More likely a T-shirt underneath with a message or a slogan which is also a caution

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30981
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - The Players Equipment

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.