- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 30995
Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/5/2016
RE: High School High School
Scott Wiseman of Zebulon, NC USA asks...
The game ended up going into penalty kicks where one of their players kicked the ball before the ref blew the whistle. The player missed. It, but then got to re kick the ball and kicked it in the second time after the ref blew the whistle. Should the player have been disqualified because he kicked the ball before whistle blew?
Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright
Unfortunately the laws are quite clear here - if the player takes the kick before the referee blows the whistle to signal the kick, it's a retake no matter the outcome.
There are certain occasions where the laws may not be fair and I'd argue this is one of them.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
NFHS Rules are the same as FIFA on this in that a whistle is required to restart play for the taking of a penalty kick.
So the only option available to the referee is a retake. It can work the opposite way in that a goal that is scored has to also result in a retake. I believe statistically that the success rate on penalty kicks is up around 90% so the more likely event is a retake after a goal which *benefits* the defending team.
The referee could also determine that if the player willfully disobeyed his instruction to wait for the whistle that a caution for unsporting conduct can be given. Most times though it is just poor mechanics by the referee that allows this to happen.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone
A whistle is required to start play. The normal procedure on a penalty kick is for the referee to tell the kicker to not kick the ball until the whistle is sounded. If the kicker then kicks the ball before the whistle is sounded, a caution could be given for unnecessary delay (NFHWS Rule 12-8-1f2). The cautioned kicker would then have to return to the team area and a substitute must replace the kicker to take the kick. (Tie Breaking Procedure Rule B-1-b) However, if the referee did not tell the player to wait for the whistle, the referee should verbally warn the kicker to wait for the whistle on the next kick. With either a caution or verbal warning, the kick would be retaken.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone
View Referee Joe Manjone profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30995
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.