Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31014

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/12/2016

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Penalty kick - legal or otherwise.

Is there a technicality breeched in the taking of this penalty kick?

In an attempt to have the ball stay on the spot (no pun intended) due to the wind, the kicker 'studs' a spot in the ground.
The LOFG state nobody is allowed to make 'marks', so should there be a retake as the kick did enter the goal, or, goal stands and a caution.

I'm thinking (if we were going to be that pedantic over the rules) that it should be a case of stop play, issue a caution, and then resume the kick.

As always, keen to read the panels thoughts on this.


Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
I see nothing wrong here. All the player is trying to do is take the kick and she uses a *mark* to assist in that. The alternative is to keep replacing the ball and if that went on long enough without the ball coming to rest the game might have to be abandoned! In the circumstances the player gained no benefit and the law you refer to is to prevent player gaining a benefit such as goalkeepers making marks to assist with positioning.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russell,
totally ok with me, she, was trying to make a small depression to allow the ball to rest. It was not a foot heel divot designed to mark positioning. The spirit is not being shattered, law 18 common sense applies.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Russell,
While it had previously been an unwritten (but widely-accepted) principle that referees should apply the spirit of the laws/game and use common sense it is now spelt out in black and white in the current edition.

On page 171, LotG 2016-17 edition, pdf version you will find the following advice:

''Referees are expected to use common sense and to apply the 'spirit of the game' when applying the Laws of the Game ...''

It seems to me that this is a classic example of where a referee should apply this principle.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31014
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31018

See Question: 31021

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.