Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31039

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 11/20/2016

RE: Under 11

Philip of PITTSFORD, New Yock U.S.A asks...

If the ball hits both posts and then bounces out is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Philip
It is only a goal if ALL of the ball crossed ALL of the goal line. It is unlikely that when the ball hits both posts (with no contact by a player in between) that all the ball crossed the line. So at a guess I would say no goal. Rarely is it ever a goal yet it could happen depending on outside factors such as wind, strange bounce of the ball, deflection by a player standing behind the line after it hits one post etc



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Philip,
based solely on your description I would probably say no goal but add an asterisk of a slight maybe it could be!
The only way a goal is legally scored is the team scoring has not infringed upon the LOTG and the ball has completely crossed the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts.

The goal line is the SAME max 5 inch width as the posts so it is certainly possible for the ball to hit one post and roll across to the other post and remain in contact or overhang some portion of that 5 inch goal line on its journey back into the FOP instead of COMPLETELY crossing into the netted area.

There is also the slight chance due to spin or wind or deflections the ball might at a certain point completely cross the goal line and legally a goal IF it is seen and recognized as such by those officiating. At the elite level they have sensors preventing a missed goal if the official being obstructed or unsighted on situations where a ball completely crosses the goal line for a goal but may appear to have not done so and is brought out or deflects back into the FOP. The video below shows many MISSED goals by the officials because they were NOT in good position to evaluate if the ball HAD indeed crossed the goal line.

Cheers https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=youtube+video+of+soccer+referee+missing+goals+that+should+have+counted&&view=detail&mid=6A94F0E3E5E1B3941F006A94F0E3E5E1B3941F00&rvsmid=6A94F0E3E5E1B3941F006A94F0E3E5E1B3941F00&fsscr=0&FORM=VDMCNL






Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Philip,
I think you may be getting distracted by a side issue here. Whether the ball hit either or both posts really doesn't matter. As my colleagues have said, in normal circumstances there is a greater probability that it was not a goal but there's no way to be certain just going on the facts you have stated.

The only pertinent question to consider is did the whole of the ball cross the whole of the line? If it did, it's a goal but if not, then no goal was scored.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31039
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.