Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31046

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/23/2016

RE: competitive Adult

chuck of phoenix, az usa asks...

I was watching the Toronto FC vs Montreal Impact game and noticed an odd play. Early in the second half, a ball was passed to a Montreal defender, who then juggled the ball up in the air and headed it to his goalkeeper. The goal keeper then grabbed the ball with his hands and threw it out to another player. I thought that this was not allowed. Can you please clarify?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Chuck
I would refer you to our answer on Question 31044. I do not know if there any videos yet on the incident? It would be interesting to see the play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Chuck,
NO it is not as described
We are eagerly looking forward to a video of the event but IF the referee did NOT see this as a circumvent I was wondering did the player deliberately control the ball with his feet as in stop, dribble it a bit and THEN flick it up onto his head or did it accidently pop up off the foot due to how the ball was received? The player would be allowed to use say the knee if the ball was off the chest first or even off a hard pass that might roll /bounce up the body?

Ok I found a video although it is somewhat irritating to listen to Simon Borg I am utterly gobsmacked the referee did not award the INDFK for the circumvent. I have never seen a better example of that particular infringement yet the no call has me completely baffled and wondering what the MLS gurus at the top are saying to about Guzmans' non actions? The referee simply choose NOT to apply the LOTG. It was CRYSTAL clear and Juan Guzman, the referee will have no defence other than his decision not to award single caution in the match was a consistent theme! I also hold the opinion the 2nd goal by Toronto was preceded by an obvious push that I considered difficult to overlook. Not that my opinion is the end all and we all realize the pitch angle and sight lines rarely match up with multi camera angles and slow motion but I remain steadfast the referee has erred in the LOTG by not awarding the INDFK for the OBVIOUS circumvent! As such he has set a dangerous precedent creating doubt, which in my opinion the MLS, FIFA, IFAB Canadian Soccer etc. should publically comment to set the record straight.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

In watching the incident given I have not seen a player actually do this in such a long time, the only defence for the match referee was a brain freeze moment of simply not registering the event for what it was, given he might not have seen it. I cannot recall the last time I saw a player actually perform a circumvent in such a clear deliberate orchestrated manner as to leave no doubt of the intent and actions were in fact cautionable and a yellow card should have been shown for the USB and the INDFK should have been awarded. There is no excuse to deny applying this portion of the LOTG. I have no idea if the decisions to not show any cautions /yellow cards in the match was a factor in why this went unpunished. A neutral referee does not get to arbitrarily pick and choose which laws to enforce. Be VERY interested to hear the referee comments if he comes out or what those in positions of authority have to say!

from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play

Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31046
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31052

See Question: 31066

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.