Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31068

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 11/29/2016

RE: Amatuer Adult

David sanderson of KILBIRNIE , Ayrshire Scotland asks...

If an offensive player takes a throw in and is on target but is touched by an opposing defender before going in the goal who is credited with the goal? Attacking player or an own goal for the defender?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

That's a question for the statisticians, not the referee. The referee only records the goal.

In one league, I had to record goals to particular players on the game sheet report. In that case, I gave the goal to whatever attacking player touched the ball last (because the goal for Team A had to be credited to a Team A player on Team A's sheet). On one occasion, I congratulated the goalkeeper for 'scoring' a goal that bounced off a defender or two following a goal kick or punt.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi David,
This isn't part of the laws of the game. My view on what constitutes an own goal is a bit subjective, but it's a judgement based on whether it may have gone in the goal anyway and how much opportunity the defender had to react to the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi David
This is technically an Own Goal as a player cannot score from a throw in. So the defender is credited with the score.
The Dubious Goals Panel and Fantasy Football have specific rules in relation to goal awards as would betting organisations. A goal would not be awarded here for the thrower in those rules.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi David,
This is not covered in the Laws of the Game, which do not require a referee to decide who would be credited with a goal. Some competitions, as Ref Voshol mentions, do ask the referee to do this and although I have never reffed in one that does, I would hope that any such competition would provide some guidelines to assist the referee in this task, since the Laws do not do so.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31068
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.