Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31081

Other 12/2/2016

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

A November You Call It follow up question.

Had the defender RED 3 intervened by using his hands (as opposed to his feet as the Q indicates) - and therefore DOGSO - the restart would be a PK, is that correct?


The Nov YCI Q and A can be found here
http://www.asktheref.com/Soccer/Referee/Articles/70

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russell,
Yes the simultaneous, pick the best option, would apply . A DFK transgression would upgrade to PK as a better restart than the INDFK. Good job on the answer by the way with a note of interest . The DFK original foul that precipitated this series of events. It would be a stretch to go back to it even if another player had prevented the goal (using their feet)rather than the INDFK misconduct by the double carded player. It is within possibility but likely we are goal kick restart and send off as the opportunity to score was there.
Cheers and Merry Christmas



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
You are indeed correct and the referee punishes the more serious offence which is the deliberate handling. The restart is a penalty kick rather than the IDFK. The referee will have less hassle with the PK restart and the dismissal as the handling will be seen as a serious offence rather than the kick intervention on what is going to be red card which is a new addition to the Laws.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31081
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.