Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31090

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/6/2016

RE: Rec High School

Paul Gordon of Tampa Bay, Florida USA asks...

I recently saw a clip of a soccer player taking a PK online

https://gfycat.com/ImpossibleOilyCheetah

In the clip, after I assume the whistle has been blown, the player slowly walks up to the ball and bends down as if he were to pick up the ball and then kicks it quickly into the goal.

I have heard that this occurred during some kind of show-match, but according to the laws of the game, is this legal? It seems like the answer should be 'no' but I can't find anything that would disallow it.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
The decision rests on the mechanics here. If the conditions for the penalty kick have been fully met and the referee signals for the kick to be taken then I see nothing much wrong with the action. The Laws allow for feinting at a kick so one can opine that it is a feint. The player does not appear to stop and all that he has done is bend down as he kicks the ball. Certainly the two players entering the penalty area as the player runs up believe that the kick is going to be taken. If the referee was looking for an out clause then that premature entry of encroachment into the penalty area could be the reason for a retake!! I have seen more blatant encroachment ignored or missed.
Now if the referee was very fastidious he could opine that it is an illegal feint and that would have to result in a caution and an IDFK restart to the defending team. I personally cannot see that happening although it is in the opinion of the referee and in outlier situations an uncompromising *old school* referee might see it as illegal.
In the U.K. *Just isn*t cricket* is a phrase used for unsporting, unacceptable actions that do not respect the opponent. This comes from the game of cricket which is regarded as a gentlemans game were fairplay is paramount. As I said a referee could find a reason for a retake within the Laws in this particular example should he wish to do so. Not much the player could do other than retake it should the referee decide that.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Paul,
if the referee had signalled for the PK to begin I see nothing wrong with the kick itself, although the early movement into the area by the team mate has to be at least considered encroachment. Particularly as it dragged in a defender whose uncertainty created by the movement, if it was or was not recognized by the referee as encroachment the attacker is going to get to a rebound first if there was one. It is true we forgive a lot of encroachment if we believe it had no adverse effect on play in that sense the offence is often considered trifling, not doubtful as in it did not happen, simply it changed nothing about the expected outcome. Yet though it is a violation. I should point out from the FIFA perspective the unusual kicking motion is not looked upon as illegal, even if it is frowned upon. If our resident expert Joe Manjone NFHS from the USA high school states it is looked up on a an interruption of the kicking action in violation of the rules, best warn those taking high school PKs not to do it that way!
Cheers & Merry Christmas



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Paul,
High school and College play by rules, not laws, and according to Rule 14-1-4, once the kicker starts his/her approach to the ball, he/she may not interrupt his/her movement. Would you consider reaching down for the ball and interruption of movement? There was no stopping, yet, it is an interruption of the kicking movement as reaching to pick up the ball is not a natural kicking movement, and this is a penalty kick. I would rule it is illegal in high school play. I hope that your high school season is going well.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31090
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.