Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31132

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 12/27/2016

RE: Adult

Muhammad Rizwan khan of Abbottabad, Kpk Pakistan asks...

Sir I want to know that in a match here in local club during second half kick off after referee blow the whistle and the other team mate start it and also done the goal before the start of actual team and the referee a award the goal as well. Can another team player start the kick off after referee whistle without the touch of the attacker team player?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
A goal can be scored directly from a kick off without the need for any other player other than the kicker to kick the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Muhammad,
The wording of your question is a little confusing. If you mean can one player score a goal directly from a kick off without it touching a second player, the answer is yes.

The other way it could possibly be read is that although one team had the kick off, a player from the other team took it instead and scored. That would not be allowed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi there ,
sorry it is difficult to grasp what you are asking?

Any one of your 11 players can take a kickoff once refere signals play to restart .

If an opponent came in it would likely be a caution for delaying the restart and a retake

The kick off can travel in any direction a significant change from past years.

You can score directly off a kick off against the opponent.

If you somehow kicked it directly into your own goal it would be corner kick restart.

No referee will signal to restart play until both teams are in their proper positions on each side of the field..

The kick off person must not play the ball twice as an INDFK restart for a second touch would occur!

Cheers and Merry Christmas



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31132
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.