- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31161
Law 15 - The Throw In 1/7/2017
Alan Buckley of Winsford, England asks...
football player takes a throw in from behind the barrier, what do you give
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
That is an incorrectly taken throw in and according to the Laws the throw in is turned over to the opponents.
Now I have seen referees ask for a retake from the proper position in such situations, I have seen an odd one let it slide with play continuing and I have seen turnovers of the TI.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
easiest solution is award the throw to the opposing team if the player is not heeding your instructions to go where you point as an incorrectly taken throw in! Throw-ins a are supposed to occur with in a short distance (a yard or so) of where the ball exited the FOP. I have seen some barriers very tight I might give a guy a break might but I feel certain I would have addressed close barriers in the pregame!
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright
The Laws require a throw to be taken from where it left the field of play.
As you know, taking the throw further up the line is incorrect - taking it behind the mark (back down the line) is also incorrect, as is taking it too far back from the field.
Often when calling these referees are met with cries of 'what does it matter? He wasn't further up the field!' - but of course, if there was no benefit to the player they wouldn't be doing it, so it certainly does matter.
Behind the barrier is generally considered not in the vicinity of the field of play, so the player does need to get back over the barrier.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31161
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.