Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31161

Law 15 - The Throw In 1/7/2017

RE: Adult

Alan Buckley of Winsford, England asks...

football player takes a throw in from behind the barrier, what do you give

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alan
That is an incorrectly taken throw in and according to the Laws the throw in is turned over to the opponents.
Now I have seen referees ask for a retake from the proper position in such situations, I have seen an odd one let it slide with play continuing and I have seen turnovers of the TI.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Alan,
easiest solution is award the throw to the opposing team if the player is not heeding your instructions to go where you point as an incorrectly taken throw in! Throw-ins a are supposed to occur with in a short distance (a yard or so) of where the ball exited the FOP. I have seen some barriers very tight I might give a guy a break might but I feel certain I would have addressed close barriers in the pregame!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Alan,
The Laws require a throw to be taken from where it left the field of play.
As you know, taking the throw further up the line is incorrect - taking it behind the mark (back down the line) is also incorrect, as is taking it too far back from the field.

Often when calling these referees are met with cries of 'what does it matter? He wasn't further up the field!' - but of course, if there was no benefit to the player they wouldn't be doing it, so it certainly does matter.

Behind the barrier is generally considered not in the vicinity of the field of play, so the player does need to get back over the barrier.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31161
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.