Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31175

Law 15 - The Throw In 1/12/2017

RE: Competitive Under 13

Nestor Rodriguez of Weston, Florida USA asks...

Teammate thows the ball to own keeper who missed touching the ball. Ball goes inside own goal, what's the call.

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Assuming that the ball came from a normal throw-in taken by a team mate, the result is a corner kick for the opponents.

The law is on this is quite unequivocal and states as follows:

''A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in:
 if the ball enters the opponents' goal a goal kick is awarded
 if the ball enters the thrower's goal a corner kick is awarded''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nestor
A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw in. The restart is your scenario is a corner kick as per the law quoted by Referee Grove.
Now in a game situation will it be patently clear that a player did in fact touch / not touch the ball?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=T_zPxzbBV4c
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18QsjFUquD8
Did any players touch the ball here? The referees thought so and goals were awarded. If no one touches the ball the restarts would have been a goal kick or a corner kick.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Nestor
an oops twice over but lucky on the 2nd!
WHY?
Now the opposition get a corner kick NOT a goal!

IF the keeper HAD made contact and the ball still entered the goal it would have counted. Even IF he tried stop the ball using his hands but failed to do so we have a good goal as we set aside the INDFK that would have occurred if he HAD stopped the ball from entering the goal.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31175
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.