- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31196
Law 15 - The Throw In 1/23/2017
RE: Rec Under 14
Stephen Fisher of Huddersfield, West Yorkshire England asks...
During a game at the weekend I had a parent constantly questioning whether someone was making a foul throw. He said as the ball was spinning in the air the throwers hand was coming off the ball. I didn't think it was but the ball was rotating as he threw it, which looked like his hands were rotating on the ball. But under the rules the ball came from behind his head, both hands remained on the ball and his feet were behind the line. Does the fact the ball is rotating indicate it maybe a foul throw.
Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove
The requirements of the throw-in law as regards hand position and technique are actually quite minimal. The entire wording in this regard, as Ref McHugh states, is that the player must ''throw the ball with both hands from behind and over the head''
Within those very simple requirements there is nothing I can see that would imply a throw is incorrectly taken merely because the ball ends up with a certain amount of spin as it travels through the air. There's an old saying, ''Just because it looks ugly, doesn't mean it is wrong.''
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
The parent was once again perpetuating an absolute MYTH of EPIC proportions. Not surprizing as I often say spectators see what they think they see, players see what they feel, coaches see what they want, you as referee see what you see and you sir are 100% correct NOT to make any call except if there is opportunity and accompanied with a smile advise the parent the correct application of the LOTG. Not that my approach works for all but I often in the pregame walk the touchlines and ask the parents if they have any questions. Education is for everyone! Both hands but it was not said with equal force, it was done to prevent a goal keeper whip toss or basketball drop shot.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
At one time Law 15 stated that the thrower *uses both hands* while taking a throw in. Some referee opined incorrectly that spin was a tell tale sign of not using both hands. This developed a myth that such a TI was illegal. Not so.
The Law was subsequently amended to *holds the ball with both hands* to stop the myth and as of June 2016 further amended to * throw the ball with both hands from behind and over the head from the point where it left the field of play*
So as described as long as both hands were on the ball then the TI was good. Nothing to do with spin.
For what it is worth, trying to deal with a constant questioning parent can be difficult. One would think that the advantage of spin on the ball was so significant that the opponents were being hugely disadvantaged! Most shouts of foul throw are an attempt to turn over possession cheaply. With player appeals of foul throws I usually shout loudly *Nothing wrong there*.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31196
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.