Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31201

Kicks From The Penalty mark 1/25/2017

RE: Rec Adult

Simon from of Ipswich, queensland Australia asks...

A match needs a winner to determine which team goes on to play in next round of the competition, but the game finishes in a draw, so KFPM. Blue team finished with 9 players (the red team had full 11 players) on field at end. Those (18) players have been identified.

While the coin toss to decide which end/who kicks first, the red GK becomes incapacitated and now cannot stay on the field.

1. The red team have a res GK and not used all their substitutions, or
2. one of the players who was on field at end of game, but excluded when required to choose only 9 players for the kicks,

is to now be their replacement for the GK during these kicks.

Can the substituted res GK have a penalty kick, or is the restriction (p.73) only applicable to the excluded player from example 2.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Simon,
well the reduce to equate can occur at ANY time during KFTPM so if the red keeper is incapacitated through being sick perhaps dizzy a possible head injury from earlier. The red team HAS the option of substituting the keeper if their substitution opportunities were not all used up or the two players who left one could return to replace him as a legal player if no substitutions options were available. No matter who replaces the keeper, they are entitled to take a kick provided the keeper they are replacing has not yet kicked. The MAY NOT TAKE A KICK refers to the keeper as he is no longer eligible.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Simon
The answer is now part of the updated Laws and I quote
*A goalkeeper who is unable to continue before or during the kicks and whose team has not used its maximum permitted number of substitutes, may be replaced by a named substitute, or a player excluded to equalise the number of players, but takes no further part and may not take a kick*
Some confusion arose about the last few words in the sentence. It refers to the original goalkeeper who is replaced not his replacement GK who must take a kick should he be required to do so under the Laws.
In the case of a substitution the replacement GK must take a kick should be be required to do so under the Laws.
The only possible anomaly is if say the original goalkeeper took a kick before being substituted and then all kicks are taken by different players would the substitute GK have to take the first kick in the second round as he has not yet taken a kick? Equity would suggest not as it would be seen as a subsequent sequence of kicks and a team may change the order of kickers in that sequence. It would be a pretty rare occasion and the odds are quite high of that happening.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Simon,
As my colleagues point out, some have found the wording in the main body of the law a little confusing as regards who is excluded from taking a kick. The same scenario is also referred to in the FAQ on the IFAB website and I think the wording is a little clearer:

'[...] if the goalkeeper is replaced by a substitute or excluded player, the goalkeeper can not take a kick.' This clearly refers to the goalkeeper who had been replaced.

The replacement goalkeeper on the other hand (whether a substitute or excluded player) is entitled to take a kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31201
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31213

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.